Is Our Universe a Tiny Spark Inside of a Much Larger Cosmos?

I am not a scientist. But, the idea of a Big Bang happening within the confines of an infinite space makes me wonder as if I were.

When I hear of our place in the scope of things as being but a tiny fragment of the “observable universe”, a point brought home most eloquently by astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson on Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey, the new TV series that aired this past Sunday on Fox, I am forced to ponder. If there is a known universe, then by extension, there is also an unknown part of the universe. This could be a more complete and stable cosmos, of which we are merely a bright flash within its expanse.

I say this because, as I understand the theory of the Big Bang, and I admit, I probably don’t understand it all that well, our universe quite possibly appeared from nothing, or even from a compressed something. Mr. deGrasse-Tyson drew our attention to this cosmic compression by clasping his hands in a gesture of an infinitesimal nothingness. This understanding of an explosion within an infinite space implies that what surrounded it was empty and our universe at that time, began a continuous expansion into the reaches of that void.

Should it be absolute, though, that this space need be empty? Why could it not, instead, be that this bursting into existence happened inside of an even larger universe? Would it make sense that we are the equivalent of a very large emission born inside of that larger cosmos? Could the outward movement of all the galaxies and stars and material stuff of our universe be compared to that of a Orion-like Molecular Cloud Complex, only bigger?

As I’ve stated, I am not a scientist, but I wonder. . .

Please leave a reply.

