On the Road to Satori – Portland

http://www.deviantart.com/art/American-Class-386943152

1949 Packard Super 8 sedan by quintmckown


Portland

I got the last ride I planned to get
from those Portland rich kids
in their vintage Packard  cars
with big white-walled tires
small windows and shiny
chrome bumpers

dressed in deep purple like dolls
from the velvet underground
they stopped
ope’d the door
and let me in
said not a word
they left me at the state line
as if it were their duty their
bit for the cause helping
this fellow bohemian
take it to the road

a new breed of hobo—not poor
looking for a piece of the American Pie served
up  raw uncut without the cushion
of middle-American security
they helped this boho
make it to California
through the back door

I stuck out my thumb
whoosh! one car goes by
whoosh! there goes another

5 responses

  1. Aside from the incredible use of imagery and poetic flow, I now realize that another reason I’m so drawn to your work is because I envy the narrator and his way of life, even though the world seems far less accommodating to such a transient lifestyle than it once was.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There are kids who still do this today. Mostly train hopping. I met some of them through my son. They were in their twenties, and I’m sure growing older has changed them. But, I bragged to them about being at the Oakland train yard (this old roadie has been there, I gloated) and their eyes opened wide: “We just came from the Oakland yard!” True story.

      It’s not something you would start doing as an adult. Now I think I’d die of exposure the first night out.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I tried to find one as exact as the car in the story. This one was pretty close. It only lacked the tiny rear windows you find on a coupe. But it was a four door sedan, just the same.

      Like

Please leave a reply.

