On the Road to Satori – Tempe

 


 

Tempe

 

Tempe was not the haven I expected
a roadside rest park just off the bridge from Mesa
substituted for the hobo jungle of my hitchhiking dreams

campers and tents strewn around
smoke rising from campfires and alcohol stoves
people waking up early every morning
after staying up all night drinking
spinning yarns

Buckhorn Bob taught me
how to make cowboy coffee:
“You sprinkle some grounds in the pot
bring the water to boil let the grounds
settle and pour it off the top—ya got your
cowboy coffee” he instructed me

I hungrily accepted his kind offer of a cup
as by now I was pretty much broke
hungry; no direction

7 responses

    • You know, Daniel, my dad was in the US military, so I went to American schools in France and Germany where I picked up a lot of odd vocabulary. I think the term is used in America, maybe in the South, where I was also schooled. But, don’t take my English for gospel, it’s also mixed with Spanglish. I think it’s why I’m so interested in Korean and Chinese, aside from my wife’s Chinese heritage. Also British period films and modern detective dramas. My mind has always stayed wide open to new cultures. So, I don’t think I can answer your question.

      Liked by 1 person

          • Y’know, there was in the mid-70s, a great comedy show written by Michael Palin (& starring) & Terry Jones, called Ripping Yarns, which was so British it hurt. i think you’d like it, if you don’t know it already. An absurdist masterpiece criticizing British institutions & the character of our society & its denizens. So yarns stood out as a chiefly British word.

            Liked by 1 person

            • I liked Michael Palin’s travels to the Himalayas and his Around the World in Eighty Days. I never watched Monty Python, though. I’ll see if I can find Ripping Yarns. He’s quite the character. Funny in a clever way. John Cleese, too, though I perceive Palin’s humor as more down to earth.

              Liked by 1 person

              • Palin has that naughty school boy concealing a secret way about his. He looks like an inert bottle of fizzy pop until you open it & he just goes batty, but no one opens it because they enjoy imagining it. i think Palin was the most subtle of them. Cleese is the most Conservative. He wasn’t comfortable with dressing as a woman & was quite domineering. Palin for me, has some of the best lines in Python & they are always sort of pushed out, just one clause, but very funny. Like in the dead parrot sketch when he replies to Cleese that the reason he told him it was Hull instead of Bolton, was because “it was a pun! no not a pun, the thing the same backwards & forwards…” Which is utter nonsense & Cleese replies, “But a palindrome of Bolton is Notlob, it don’t make no sense.”

                Liked by 1 person

Please leave a reply.

