On the Road to Satori – Flagstaff

 


 

Flagstaff

 

we drove north from Sedona
amazed at the crystal clear air of the night
Elizabeth explained that the crackle of bonfires
were actually in people’s back yards
not the National Park

we spent the night
with a family in the process
of converting their mobile home
into a mountain lodge; the framework
and plywood sheathing visible
as we sat to dinner

I marveled at the ingenuity
of people who engage in such endeavors
having lived my whole life in apartments
never knowing what it’s like
to own a house
you can convert
and add to
at will

Ralph and his family were ok
they all got along fine with Elizabeth’s two kids
and their dog; who later ate the scraps from our plates
(I think we probably ate venison)

we had breakfast the next morning
at a coffee shop on San Francisco Street
train tracks ran East-West through town
I walked along them for a half mile or so with Jack
a fellow we’d met in the café

Jack told me of his dreams of traveling
cross-country; riding the rails and bumming it
how he envied me his job and bills
reminding me that, yeah
I was pretty lucky
out here rambling
no worries—no dough

back at the diner
Elizabeth waited
to take me to the Interstate
where I would (hopefully)
make my next connection
to the Coast

she let me off at the crossroads
and I waited there for a ride
she stayed in the micro bus
guarding my journey
like the angel of
my mother’s prayers

a pretty girl
driving a flatbed truck
stopped to give me a ride

I ran jumped up into the cab thinking:


I’m standin’ on a corner in Winslow, Arizona,
It’s such a fine sight to see
It’s a girl, my lord, in a flatbed Ford
Slowin’ down to take a look at me
. . . take it easy. . .*

I waved at Elizabeth and the kids
—I was on my way


*Take It Easy—Eagles, 1972

11 responses

  1. Pablo, you make it all sound so free, fun and almost easy.
    You could have got stuck though if it wasn’t for the pretty angels on the road.😉 .
    You longstanding custom of meditating forms a wonderful base to open up
    to all these experiences.
    miriam

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Music brings messages that soothe and encourage us. When I was traveling, on my way to Virginia, CCR was singing “I went down Virginia seeking shelter from the storm.” Also, Jim Morrison daily reminded me that he’d “never saw a woman so alone, so alone.” :-) I’m really enjoying your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s amazing how music works itself into our daily lives. Crossing the bridge out of Mobile, Alabama heading east I heard them playing Bob Dylan’s Stuck Inside of Mobile with the Memphis Blues Again. It was hilarious, seemed like some kind of temporal convergence was going on. Looking back I realize they probably play that song a lot on the classic rock stations there. Music plays such an important part in our realities. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

Please leave a reply.

